One Lust-worthy Leather Skirt, Six Ways
How to style a winter leather skirt for spring, summer and beyond...

Nov 19, 2012 06:18
by Natasha Saroca


Have you been flirting with the idea of buying a leather skirt but held off in fear that you don’t have the ‘tude to pull it off?

Long gone are the days when leather skirts were worn exclusively by rock chicks or bad-ass biker babes. Oh yes. Now in an array of silhouettes and stylish hues, this closet staple is coveted by feminine fashionistas and tough-girl trendsetters alike.

While we all love a killer leather skirt because they offer instant fashion cred, the true beauty of this all-season essential lies in its versatility.

To rework your winter leather skirt for the warmer months ahead, simply ditch the chunky knits and humdrum hues, and replace with jewel tones, playful prints, floaty fabrics and on-trend items for a look that’s fun, fresh and flirty. And voilà! Your winter go-to piece is instantly set for spring and summer.

Whether you want to rock a mini or midi, or sport a pleated or peplum design, a leather skirt can be styled to suit any look and occasion.

Plus, with the right accessories, your ensemble will carry you effortlessly from work to play!

Want a leather skirt stat but don’t know where to start? Here are six oh-so-chic ensembles – using Bettina Liano’s Hard/Soft Leather Pencil Skirt, $399, bettinaliano.com – to get you started.

Image details:

9 to 5

Ginger & Smart Antipode Jacket, $675, gingerandsmart.com; Witchery Lace Exposed Zip Tank, $129.95, witchery.com.au; Oroton Essentials Peep-Toe Ankle Boot, $395, oroton.com; Mimco Electric Baroque Satchel, $499, mimco.com.au; Dinosaur Designs Art Range Large Shifting Planes Bangle, $210, dinosaurdesigns.com.au.

Bright spark

Show Pony Malibu Blazer in Aqua, $70, www.showponyfashion.com; Sportsgirl Sleeveless Gathered Shirt in Citrus, $59.95, sportsgirl.com.au; PeepToe Miss Fairground Heels, $269, peeptoeshoes.com.au; PeepToe Lady Unpredictable Clutch, $249, peeptoeshoes.com.au; Peter Lang Sally Summer Necklace, $170, peterlang.com.au.

Ladylike luxe

Bardot Peplum Top, $59.95, bardot.com.au; Alannah Hill Beautiful Disaster Heels, $299, alannahhill.com.au; PeepToe Lady Jacqui Handbag, $149, peeptoeshoes.com.au;  Sportsgirl Ombre Curb Chain Necklance, $19.95, sheike.com.au; Lovisa Pink Gem Geometric Earrings, $9.99, lovisa.com.au.

Cool and casual

Just Jeans Chambray Shirt, $59.95, justjeans.com.au; Bassike Asymmetric Tank in White, $80, bassike.com; Converse Lo Seasonal Sneakers in Nectarine, $90, converse.com.au; Country Road Linen Fluoro Tote, $129, countryroad.com.au; Fossil Stella Stainless Steel Watch (ES3098), $179, fossil.com.au.

Laidback lounge

Stylestalker Draped Tee in White (back pictured), $65, stylestalker.com; Tony Bianco Astrix Heels, $139.95, tonybianco.com.au; Witchery Sara Clutch, $59.95, witchery.com.au; Sportsgirl Paddle Fan Necklace in Aqua, $19.95, sportsgirl.com.au; Samantha Wills Bohemian Bardot Ring in Aqua, $69, samanthawills.com.au.   

Midas touch

Bardot Quilted Crop Top, $69.95, bardot.com.au; PeepToe Miss Burlesque Heels, $309, peeptoeshoes.com.au; Mimco Intergalactic Clutch in Ivory/Gold, $179, mimco.com.au; Sportsgirl Graphic Pieces Necklace, $49.95, sportsgirl.com.au; Samantha Wills Under Your Spell Bracelet Set, $165, samanthawills.com.au.


comments powered by Disqus

Missy Confidential

Get first pick of designer sales in your city.

First, choose your location

Register your email address to get hot sale news
and exclusive Missy deals. (you'll love it!)

I'm already subscribed thanks.