MISSY CONFIDENTIAL
Thoroughly chic: Our guide to trackside style
5 hot-to-trot looks to rock on race day...

Apr 02, 2013 03:10
by Natasha Saroca

Comments

Sydney’s Autumn Racing Carnival is finally underway, and you know what that means, right? It’s time to don a frock, dig out your favourite hat or fascinator (or, if we’re being honest, buy a new one) and get glammed up so you can hold your own against others hoping to take out the title of best dressed at the track.

In terms of trackside trends, modern silhouettes, ladylike styling, peplums, lace, florals, a monochrome palette, and pops of red, berry tones and cobalt are where it’s at this autumn racing season. Bare shoulders will also make way for cropped jackets, tailored coats, fur stoles and chic capes – but only when the weather heads south, that is.

When choosing accessories, hunt down the perfect hat or fascinator first, and then add jewellery and other embellishments accordingly. Sculptural headpieces, berets, and classic designs like pill box hats are leading the pack this racing season, while show-stopping headbands adorned with flowers and sparkling gems are favourites that never go out of fashion. And remember, your autumn racing carnival hat or headpiece should be made from felt or wool – straw and fabric designs are strictly for spring.

Now it’s time to choose your shoes: should you go for style or comfort? Well, you’re in luck because solid stacked heels, wedges and ankle boots are the winning trifecta on the footwear front this autumn. Best news ever, right?

For those who are happy to brave stiletto heels, don’t forget to pop some gel inserts into your shoes before heading out the door – you’ll be thanking us at the end of the day!

Need some inspiration to get you started? Here are five chic ensembles that will have you looking race-day-ready in no time at all.

Shop the looks:

Sweetest berry

cylk Hamburg Dress in Claret/Black, $289, cylk.com.au; Forever New Paloma Lace Insert Coat, $129.99, forevernew.com.au; Bonbons Alisa Ankle Boot in Black Suede, $129.95, bonbons.com.au; Seduce Geometric Clutch, $79.95, seduce.com.au; Awon Golding Millinery Pheasant Headpiece via Boticca, USD$354.50, boticca.com; Forever New Alexa Studded Gloves, $49.99, forevernew.com.au.

Classic combo

Kj by Kirrily Johnston Voile Pinafore, $370, kirrilyjohnston.com; Wayne Cooper Crop Cape via Myer, $489, myer.com.au; rmk Idelia Red Suede Pumps, $149.95, rmkshoes.com; PeepToe Lady Jacqui Handbag, $119.20, peeptoeshoes.com.au; Gregory Ladner Large Flower Headband via David Jones, $59.95, davidjones.com.au; Condura Lace Detail Leather Glove, $49.95, condura.com.au.

Peplum perfection

SHEIKE Charlize Dress in Cobalt, $149.95, sheike.com.au; Ted Baker Schmoo Faux Fur Shrug via David Jones, $179.95, davidjones.com.au; Nicholas Kirkwood Peep Toe Platform via David Jones, $537, davidjones.com.au; PeepToe Quilted Hard Case in Nude, $88, peeptoeshoes.com.au; Bundle MacLaren Millinery Kitty Beret via Boticca, USD$229.50, boticca.com; Peter Lang Miranda Emerald Swarovski Crystal Earrings, $70, peterlang.com.au.

Shine on

cylk Andra Pant in Chartreuse, $249, cylk.com.au; Manning Cartell Machine Age 3/4 Sleeve Top, $399, manningcartell.portableshops.com; rmk Brixton Black Patent Heels, $149.95, rmkshoes.com; Condura Metal Clutch, $49.95, condura.com.au; Condura Pill Box Hat with Detail in Black, $29.95, condura.com.au; Olga Berg Statement Cuff, $149, olgaberg.com.au.

Pretty sweet

Charlie Brown ‘Rejuvenate’ Perennial Dress, $499, charliebrown.com.au; Bonbons Peggy Natural Patent Pumps, $99.95, bonsbons.com.au; Olga Berg Envelope Clutch in Grape, $69.95, olgaberg.com.au; Bundle MacLaren Millinery via Boticca, USD$220, boticca.com; Peter Lang Lucky Horseshoe Earrings with Swarovski Crystals, $95, peterlang.com.au; Swarovski Gold-Plated Purity Bracelet, $160, swarovski.com.

 
comments powered by Disqus

Missy Confidential

Get first pick of designer sales in your city.

First, choose your location

Register your email address to get hot sale news
and exclusive Missy deals. (you'll love it!)

I'm already subscribed thanks.